We are a union municipal district dedicated to providing solid waste management authority, services, and planning to its Member Towns. We serve a population base of 18,000 residents and have an approved solid waste implementation plan. GUVSWD currently generates approximately 9,500 tons of municipal solid waste (MSW) per year, most of which is transported to the Lebanon Landfill in New Hampshire.  

 The District was chartered in 1990 and currently represents ten Vermont towns:

Board of Supervisors

The GUVSWD Board of Supervisors is comprised of appointees from each member town’s municipal government. See Article II of the GUVSWD Charter for details.

Meetings are held at Tracy Hall in Norwich at 4:30 p.m. on Wednesdays and are open to the public.

Bridgewater George Spear (alt. Nancy Robinson)
Hartland Robert Stacey, Clerk (alt. David Ormiston)
Norwich Neil Fulton, Chair  (alt. vacant)
Pomfret Vernon Clifford (alt. Doug Tuthill)
Sharon Mary Gavin (alt. Kevin Gish)
Strafford Stephen Willbanks, Vice Chair  (alt. Michael Scanlan)
Thetford James Masland (alt. vacant)
Vershire Gene Craft (alt. vacant)
West Fairlee Bruce Durkee (alt. vacant)
Woodstock Tom Yennerell, Interim (alt. vacant)
Thomas KennedyInterim Treasurer

Meeting Schedule for Fiscal Year 2022

​Wednesday, August 31, 2021 
 Wednesday, September 22, 2021   
 Wednesday, November 17, 2021 (Budget)  
 Wednesday, January 5, 2022 (Public Hearing on FY23 Budget)  
 Wednesday, March 16, 2022    
 Wednesday, April 6, 2022 (Organizational Meeting)  
 Wednesday, June 15, 2022